

News Release

2015 IOWA FFA AG BROADCASTING CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

87th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Ag Broadcasting Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 20, 2015. Twelve individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place individual for the event was Tyler Geiger from the Montezuma FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. The second place individual for the event was Taylor Waldstein from the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese.

Members participating in this event present a five-minute broadcast as if they were a farm director or reporter for a radio station. This event is intended to foster an understanding and create an interest in the field of broadcast journalism. The Iowa FFA Ag Broadcasting CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa Broadcaster's Association Foundation through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Ag Broadcasting CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,700 student members as part of 225 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Tyler Geiger	Montezuma	Gold
2	Taylor Waldstein	Fairbank	Gold
3	Kennedy Plowman	Adair	Gold
	Sarah Todd	Columbus Junction	Gold
	Tristan Haag	Hartley	Gold
	Shyla Waldhauser	Orient	Gold

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Chandler Jahner	Pella	Gold
Jeff Edwards	Gilbert	Silver
Jacob Holck	LeMars	Silver
Gabe Roberts	Leon	Silver
Nolan Webster	New Hampton	Silver
Jacob Goodrich	Rockford	Silver